OneNote Class Notebooks: Removing a student

Our next blog post in the series on OneNote Notebook Advanced Permissions looks at a OneNote Class Notebook scenario.

The Scenario

Your class uses a Class Notebook created by the OneNote Class Notebook Creator app for Office 365.

A student has:

  • Withdrawn enrolment in your class
  • Transferred to another class

Or for various reasons, you need to recreate a student's notebook with the Class Notebook.

Steps you have taken

You have deleted the students notebook from the Class Notebook. The students notebook is also known as a OneNote Section Group. Using the OneNote application, you have right-clicked on the notebook and chosen delete.

However the student still has access to the Content and Collaborative sections of the Class Notebook.

They still have the notebook connected to their device (laptop/tablet/smartphone) and the pages in the Content and Collaborative sections still sync to their devices.

You want to completely remove the students access to the OneNote Class Notebook.

Explanation

The OneNote Class Notebook app creates three areas in the notebook with different permissions.

_Content Library - Students have Read/View permissions. The permissions are inherited from and assigned at the top level of the notebook.

_Collaborative Space - Students have Contribute permissions. The permissions are unique permissions and assigned to the _Collaborative Space folder.

Student's Section - The student's own notebook within the notebook. Each student has Contribute access to their own notebook, but no access to other student's notebooks. The permissions are unique and assigned to each students section.

 

In this scenario, you have deleted the students own section, so we won't need to adjust it's permissions.  But we will need to remove the students permissions from the Collaborative Space, then the Content Library, which in turn removes the students permissions to the whole notebook.

Preparation

Create the OneNote Notebook Management Link in your class site (the site where your OneNote Class Notebook is stored) using the instructions from this post

Steps to take - Removing the student's notebook and access to the Class notebook

 

http://youtu.be/9R2OSfgHtYw

Removing the student's access from the _Collaboration Space folder

  1. Open the notebook's management link from the Quick Launch menu.
  2. Locate the _Collaboration Space folder. Click the Ellipses (…) menu and chose Share. OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-01 The Share window will be displayed.
  3. Select Shared with and Advanced. OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-02 The Advanced Permissions page will be displayed.
  4. Select the check box beside the student you want to remove from the notebook.
  5. From the ribbon menu, click Remove User Permissions. OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-03 A window will be displayed, asking you to confirm you want to remove permissions for the user.
  6. Click OK to confirm removing permissions. The page will refresh and the student's account will be removed.

 

Removing the student's access from the _Content Library folder

  1. Open the notebook's management link from the Quick Launch menu.
  2. Locate the _Content Library folder. Click the Ellipses (…) menu and chose Share. The Share window will be displayed.
  3. Select Shared with and Advanced. The Advanced Permissions page will be displayed.
  4. From the ribbon menu, click Manage Parent. OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-04 The Advanced Permissions page for the whole OneNote notebook will be displayed.
  5. Select the check box beside the student you want to remove from the notebook.
  6. From the ribbon menu, click Remove User Permissions. A window will be displayed, asking you to confirm you want to remove permissions for the user.
  7. Click OK to confirm removing permissions. The page will refresh and the student's account will be removed.

 

Removing the student's notebook from the Class Notebook

If you haven't already done so, you can use the OneNote application to delete the student's notebook.

  1. Open the class notebook in OneNote
  2. Right-Click the student's "notebook" (section group) and choose Delete. OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-05

 

OR

Using the notebook's management link.

  1. Open the notebook's management link from the Quick Launch menu.
  2. Locate the student's folder.
  3. Click the Ellipses (…) menu and click the second Ellipses on the fly-out menu.
  4. Click Delete A window will be displayed, asking you to confirm you want to delete and move the folder to the recycle bin.
  5. Click OK to confirm. The page will refresh and the students folder will be removed.

 

Side Note

If you use the OneNote application to delete a student's notebook, OneNote will advise that it will move the notebook to the recycle bin. However, when you check the OneNote recycle bin, the students section is not available to restore.

OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-06

OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-07

The recycle bin that the message refers to is the SharePoint Site's recycle bin. This can be accessed from the site in Site Contents and Recycle Bin. The student's folder and each of their OneNote section files can be restored back to the notebook. Ensure that you restore the Open Notebook.onetoc2 file, so that all the sections can be opened together as a notebook.

OneNote-Class-Remove-Stud-08-1

Remember, the recycle bin of a SharePoint Online site will keep a deleted item or folder for up to 90 days. So they can be restored if you made a mistake deleting it.

As you can see, the process of removing a student's folder and access from a OneNote Class notebook has a few important steps.

We may see the OneNote Class Notebook app add a feature to remove the student, making the process simpler.

But I encourage you to become more familiar with using the OneNote Notebook Management Link. It makes a number of different sharing scenarios possible, which I look forward to walking you through in the coming blog posts in this series - OneNote Notebook Advanced Sharing and Permission Management.